I’ ve never posted my favourite tools for bowmaking. But the truth is that I’ m using them daily and they deserve to be  honoured. Especially right now, since some weeks I’ m very proud of having purchased a SIGMA DP2- camera. This camera is a dream for people, who like to care for details and to take pics by their own, not automatically. SIGMA- cameras are working with a FOVEON- sensor, all other cameras are using a BAYER- sensor, the FOVEON  is another capablity making SIGMA- cameras so different. SIGMA- cameras are made for selfbowyers! So my SIGMA DP2 has become another daily tool for my work.

Hatchet, adze, drawknife and a knife with a 300years old blade and a handle made of a bladebone of a moose

Hatchet, adze, drawknife and a knife with a 300years old blade and a handle made of a bladebone of a moose

The hatchet and the adze are presents of 2 guys from Turkey, who did some of my bow- classes. It is a good old custom in Turkey to make a gift to a teacher or a master, these tools are meaning a lot to me, they are made in local blacksmith shops in Turkey and I’ m using them a lot.

This drawknife is  working the best for, during the last 20 years I’ ve really been using a lot of different types of drawknife, but this one is my favourite. It’s not to long, the globular handles are charming my hands very properly.  The blade is made of real thick steel.  It is made by the French ARNAUD BROTHERS COMPANY.

bxplo tools 2 5 2013

The ARNAUD knife at work: tillering an osage bow

The knife with the moose-handle is a beauty and a great tool, which I’ m using daily. The blade is about 300 years old, maybe it has been used for killing, its sheer age leaves space for fantasy. It is made by a former friend of mine, a pastry chief, who was famous for his scrimshaw works too. He made  the knife, I made him a plains- bow of osage, hey, that is  the real deal. No money!

Favourite tools are almost like an extension of my hands and fingers, I don’t feel comfort or a bit helpless when I’ ve to use other  knifes or hatchets. I can’ t work without them, it’s like being married.

I prefer blades not to sharp for bow- making, otherwise the blades will “bite” to deep into the wood. Usually my moose- knife is very sharp for working hard and knotty areas in a stave, it is my tool of choice when fine- tillering a bow.

Another pic of the adze, the hatchet, drawknife andthe moose- knife

Another pic of the adze, the hatchet, drawknife and the moose- knife

Next post is dealing with my progress on the “zero- brace- height- bow, this design is so delicious, everybody is foretelling  its explosion.

The explosive "zero- brace- height- bow

The explosive “zero- brace- height- bow

